Guest Blog – Pointy Eared Avatar, Mr Jeffrey Thomas…

  Like Mr. Andy Remic himself, who has kindly allowed me to hijack his blog today, in my work I like to blend genres, to defy and destroy and invent genres, often in my milieu of Punktown — but most recently in my new novel, The Fall of Hades (Dark Regions Press).

     In The Fall of Hades, a woman emerges from a comatose state after having been a prisoner for centuries, while around her raged a battle between Damned, Angels and Demons. She has no idea what part she originally played in this war to end all wars, and sets out to investigate – finding herself in a radically transfigured Hell gone post-industrial, a cyber-inferno populated by countless hostile tribes. Her sole companion? A talking demonic gun.

     Okay, so who wants to make it into a movie?

     Who indeed could bring such a bizarre story to the screen? But I know I’d sure pay to see it.

     Among my favorite directors are David Lynch and David Cronenberg, but their films tend to be intimate, the canvas a little smaller than what this particular story would require. We need someone who has succeeded at working on a large scale – succeeded before in bringing a strange world to the big screen.

     Last night I watched Alien 3 again, and even after all these years I still haven’t forgiven the filmmakers for killing off the likable Marine Hicks and sweet child Newt, whose survival in Aliens was won with such struggle and courage. But if you can get past that (it’s difficult), it’s still a tense, beautifully made film (though the alien’s CGI effects look a little spotty in a couple of places today). The story’s prison environment is wonderfully rendered and shot. The director of Alien 3 of course was David Fincher, who went on to even more impressive work in Se7en and in one of my all-time favorite films, Fight Club. Based on his work in these three films, I think Fincher could bring my vision of Hades to the screen admirably.

     But maybe some other candidates? Well, not many people seemed to like the fourth Alien film, Alien: Resurrection, but I happened to love it. Yes, it had a different kind of tone – a little lighter in feel, a bit comic book – but all the Alien films have a different feel and that’s what’s kept the series compelling. The director, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, also made the lovely and weird The City of Lost Children. Between the two of these movies, I think Jeunet would also be an excellent choice.

     Someone else who comes to mind is Robert Rodriguez, because of his incredible Sin City. The Fall of Hades would be a costly film indeed, because of its bizarre environments, and I imagine a lot of that would need to be computer-generated, as was so much of what we saw in Sin City. And Rodriguez is masterful with action sequences. But what I haven’t really seen from him is poetry, a skillful hand with (or at least, an interest in) quieter material, and there are those aspects to The Fall of Hades, too. Which, again thinking of The City of Lost Children, I think Jeunet would be better able to provide. Rodriguez still has something of a grinning teenager’s sensibilities when it comes to filmmaking, and maybe later in his career he’ll explore more subdued territory. I’d like to see that.

     How about Guillermo del Toro? He’s already touched upon the infernal in the action-packed Hellboy movies, but this genius can also make poetic, artistic films like Cronos and of course Pan’s Labyrinth. Yes, yes, I would be very enthusiastic about del Toro taking the reins of The Fall of Hades, indeed!

     Then of course there’s Ridley Scott, who is said to be helming the next Alien movie. That’s cause for major excitement. It’s rather surprising, given his visionary work with Alien and Blade Runner, that he hasn’t done another science fiction movie in all these intervening years. Scott might indeed be the best director I could possibly dream of taking on The Fall of Hades as a film.

     And then there’s the task of casting this movie. Who could play the part of Vee, The Fall of Hades’ two-fisted, tough-as-nails, but inwardly tormented heroine?

     Ah well, it’s easy to get caught up in such ruminations. Because…while movies are very expensive to make, dreaming requires no budget.

2 comments
  1. Erik said:

    A question to Mr. Thomas and Remic: Are there any plans to bring your books to the Kindle?

    I buy both types of course, but I always love to have my old (and new) favorite authors with me at all times. And as I see it, it is another form of income stream.

    With all the bruhaha over this stuff, I’d actually like your opinions on why the publishing industry it seems is dead set to hurt e-books. Not trying to start a fight but I am curious as to what you authors think of the whole thing.

  2. Hi, Erik.

    I do have some titles on Kindle, actually — there’s my Hades short story collection VOICES FROM HADES, my novel LETTERS FROM HADES that started it all, plus my Punktown novels HEALTH AGENT and EVERYBODY SCREAM! All are at Amazon. Thanks for asking!

    I don’t think all publishers are against e-books, as the above list indicates. Some, as you say, view e-books as merely another income stream. When my novel BLUE WAR came out from Solaris, they offered DEADSTOCK free as a download to acquaint readers with the series. At that time, they told me they’d heard that e-books, even free as in this case, actually seem to boost the sales of printed books instead of detracting from sales.

    Anyway, I’d love to see more of my titles hit the Kindle, for readers like you who enjoy that medium!

    – Jeffrey

Leave a Reply

